Niagara-On-The-Lake: Food, Winery and Escape game

IMG_20170506_125627

Think about this: Your besties, wine, and a pretty little hotel.  It was my bestie’s birthday this weekend and to surprise her, we took her to Niagara-on-the-Lake.  It was great!!  I made a reservation at the Prince of Wales hotel.  The restaurant was called Escabeche.  The food was great and the atmosphere was even better.  When we arrived, there was a wedding party taking pictures.  I am not sure how I ever missed this, but this area is extremely magical.  It’s like I walked into Star’s Hollow in Gilmore Girls.  The sun room was gorgeous and the view was delightful.  Even though it was raining outside, it felt like a beautiful day.

 

We then took her to Flat Rock Cellars for a winery tour.  They showed us where they made wine and gave us some samples to drink.  The tour guide was right, ‘Twisted’ their most popular wine was amazing.  I’d highly recommend it if you enjoy a sweeter white wine.  Though it stopped raining but was still cold outside, we took some time walking around the vineyard and took some pictures around the spring blossoms and the cellar door.  I was surprised that we weren’t allowed to go into the cellar, but according to them, it is dark and scary in there.

Our birthday surprise ended there, but little did we know we were going to have a night full of adventure.  We arrived at a Thai place beside a gas station.  The restaurant is called Kub Khao, located in Scarborough.  The owner of this restaurant was currently also opening a similar restaurant at downtown Toronto.  The portions were big and the cost was low.  I’d say that the value of the food here was probably better than the actual tastiness of it.  Don’t get me wrong, it was good.  But somehow I feel like I’ve had better somewhere else.

We ventured to Omescape in Scarborough, which was very close to the restaurant for the first ever Epic runner.  It is a maze and you and your friends are pitted against each other to be a victor.  It was exciting and got every one’s heart pumping.  I suck at these games, so I mostly lost quiet quickly.

348s

Note: Picture taken above is from yelp.com

It sounds like my bestie had as much fun as I did for her birthday party.  Until next year.

 

Leave a Reply

