Hoppy Belated Easter Everyone!

IMG_20170418_172313

Happy Belated Easter, everyone!  In a blink of an eye, it’s already mid April.  I have so much adventure coming up that I’m so excited to share with you.  But first things first, what did you do this Easter long weekend?  What else to do, but eat until you can’t fit into your pants?

Every Easter weekend, I host a brunch with my family.  After we stuff our faces, the kids have an chocolate egg hunt and then off.  When that’s done, I usually let them count their eggs before we settle down for some egg dying or painting.

IMG_20170415_121542The day before, I took some time out to premake some of the food.  I made these awesome poppy seed muffins that lemony delicious, sugar cookie egg baskets that I had over cooked and were kind of hard, and some little check cupcakes.  I also hardboiled eggs and put them in the fridge so I didn’t have to do it the next day.  But I also like the yolk super cooked….overcooked … Then I printed a cute banner for our kitchen and hung it up.  Here is the free printable for this super cute banner.  At the front door, I usually put Easter flowers but my boyfriend said he would bring them on Saturday, so I found some really cute eggs at the dollar store and hung them up on a ribbon.  Above it, I copied The House that Lars Built’s very pretty ‘Happy Easter’ banner.

On the day of, I woke up early and prepared the little English Muffin bunnies.  This recipe calls for Pillsbury French Bread in which Canada does not sell.  Needless to say, it was probably not the best idea to use the muffin canister instead.  Essentially the bunny tail didn’t stay on (I also burnt the second tray because I left it in there for too long).

I mixed up the eggs, swiss cheese and ham for the frittata and poured them into the muffin tins.  Note: butter or vegetable oil or oil spray the crap out of the pans!!! I cannot emphasize this point any clearer.  I spent about an hour afterwards scrubbing the egg off because I couldn’t bother the properly oil up the pan.

Running behind, luckily my boyfriend showed up so I assigned him to hide the eggs.  He had a ton of fun with that.  As I set the table and put the pretty Easter Lilies somewhere.  I put out the chopped up fruit and yogurt, the desserts and the drinks on the counter.  On the table, I loaded it with the muffins, hardboiled eggs, English muffin burnt- bunnies, taters wrapped in bacon (so easy and a family favourite), breakfast sausages, swiss cheese and ham frittatas, and pancakes.

IMG_20170415_121537

I saw the little bunny name tags on Pinterest but the site doesn’t exist anymore.  I just took the liberty and figured it out.  They’re really cute.

There was tons of food, but for some reason it still didn’t seem to be enough.  Troubles of a large and growing family.

IMG_20170418_172332Hope everyone had a very Hoppy Easter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

